All of them! Yup, that was a trick question :) One common misconception about distilled alcohol is that if it was made from grains that contain gluten it must contain gluten. When in fact that is not the case.
During the distillation process the proteins do not end up in the final product, they stay in the mash of fermented grains and not carried over in the steam. Therefore, yes, you can have rye, whiskey, gin and vodka made from fermented grains that contain gluten. There can be some flavoured liquors and some blended whiskeys that you may have to question, therefore always look at the ingredients and call the company to ensure that the product is gluten free.
The only alcohol beverages you need to avoid are coolers and some ciders that contain malt/malted barley as well gluten containing beers and beer that has been crafted to remove the gluten. Yes, despite the testing being less than 20 ppm, it is still not safe for people who have Celiac disease to drink these beers as the Canadian Celiac Association cannot test the beer properly to ensure its safety. The clarifying agent that the beer companies use seems to interfere with the accuracy of the R5 Competive ELISA that detects gluten contamination during the testing process. Even if you “don’t get sick”, it is not recommended that you take the chance. Also, in the US and in Quebec, single-serve cans/bottles sold at the store often will contain malt, therefore these should be avoided as well.
If you have any questions on this topic or gluten free products in general you can always take a look at the Canadian Celiac Association’s website at www.celiac.ca or ask me here!
I work as a Dietitian and definitely walk the talk. I love to cook and help people get back to being healthy again.